Workplace employer doesn't want to pay me for work done?

Oct 18, 2013
Hi ladies! I need some opinions on a horrible situation I'm dealing with right now.

I have been working for a company for about 3 months, but was laid off 3 weeks ago today. No problem, it was not devastating and I didn't cause a big stink. I sent in my time sheet the next day and was told my final check would be on its way - great. Three weeks later, here I am with no final paycheck. I contacted my ex boss via email and inquired about my check, no answer. Until this afternoon... I received an email back where my boss is basically questioning all of my hours worked? He understated my work load/ turned in projects so much it was insulting. I was fuming! He knows very well what I've done and I have the proof. I keep track of my own time as they don't have a way to, so I am responsible for my own time sheet. I am SO upset and insulted, he wrote a four paragraph email devaluing my work and pretty much calling it unsatisfactory. Why wasn't this an issue while I was working for them? I never heard one thing about it.

Here is the tricky part - I don't have an employment contract. In fact, I don't know what I'm considered. An at-will employee? Independent contractor? The only working relationship established was through email, which I still have. All I received what was to be my hourly pay. During my time working, I did not receive one paycheck. Apparently I was to be paid at the end of my contract, which I never knew about because I didn't get it.