Driving in the Snow

pr1nc355

Orange Pyramid
O.G.
May 24, 2006
I've never done this before. I'm a lifelong Angeleno, and I've driven just about every day for almost 20 years, but of course, never in the snow. Next week, I'll be going to New Jersey, and if the weather reports I've read are accurate, it'll be snowing there, and I'll be renting a car. I'm nervous about it, and I don't have time or even know anyone who's driven in the snow, so I can't ask anyone to teach me. I heard that you need chains to put on your tires. Is that true? How do you actually do that?

Any advice any of you can give me would be so helpful!

Lucky you!

I live in Canada where when it snows it snows lol!
Consider renting an SUV or something with 4 wheel drive. That is VERY important Avoid cars with RWD (rear wheel drive), these are TERRIBLE in the snow. Just go steady, don't drive too fast and you'll be fine. Snow tires make a big difference, but I am not sure if all rental places have them for their vehicles. Also make sure the car is topped up with windshield wiper fluid (but since its coming from a rental place it should be). I commute everyday to work in the snow and if its one thing i've learned just drive slowly and dont rush it. Please be careful and enjoy your time in NJ

If you've never driven on snow or ice, I strongly recommend AGAINST doing so, especially somewhere like Jersey.

Find another way to get around.

Four wheel drive will NOT help you on ice, nor will it help you stop if you go into a skid. It will help you get out if you get stuck in deep snow, IF you know how to use it.

Front wheel drive is much better than rear wheel drive, but again, it will NOT help you stop on ice.

Chains are generally not legal in urban areas or paved highways. They're intended for rural or mountain roads and severely limit driving speed. I doubt a rental car company would allow them.