Home & Garden *~Calling All Gardening Lovers~* Sow and Show Your Garden Stuff

Can you guys recommend a book or website for an absolute beginner (climate: Montreal, so same as NY)??? I have a house now but we've lived in apartments forever and I really have no clue where to start.

PS very cute little girl there!!! I am hoping to grow some fresh vegetables/herbs for my kids too.

This is my first year of full on vegetable gardening in my raised beds. Here in Texas our growing season is almost already over because it just gets so incredibly hot that most plants just wither in the summer heat. But the plus side is that we can grow almost year round because of fairly mild winters. I am growing EVERYTHING in containers and raised beds: kale, radishes, carrots, tomatoes, salad greens, radishes, green beans, potatoes, and lots and lots of herbs such as mint, basil, oregano, thyme, sage, and chervil.

View attachment 2205480View attachment 2205481View attachment 2205482View attachment 2205483View attachment 2205485

Beauty all around. Your dd looks like she's having a blast helping mommy.

Can you guys recommend a book or website for an absolute beginner (climate: Montreal, so same as NY)??? I have a house now but we've lived in apartments forever and I really have no clue where to start.

PS very cute little girl there!!! I am hoping to grow some fresh vegetables/herbs for my kids too.

Honestly the web is amazing for all that stuff. I have learned more from thinking out loud and running a search than most of my mags and books. Also chatting with peeps have helped me tons.

The beginning can be a very overwhelming so just start slow with easy to grow things like tomatoes and peppers, radishes and herbs, squash and cucs, etc.

Here is a great website for you.

http://www.canadiangardening.com/how-to/gardening-resources/hardiness-zones-and-frost-dates/a/1781

Let us know how it goes :smile: