Pearls Size Recommendations Pls!!!

sharbear508

Buy now, think later
O.G.
May 25, 2006
Hi ladies!

I did a search of the forum, but can't seem to find a thread with size recommendations, even though I'm sure I read one a few months ago. :shrugs: I'm a newbie to pearls, so I'm really hoping to rely on your expertise! ;)

I'm wondering what size pearls and strand length you ladies would recommend for everyday wear vs. evenings out.

I found a cultured pearl necklace on amazing sale, but am not sure about the size. The pearls are 6-6.5mm and the necklace is 24" long. This seems a bit on the long side, so I was thinking that I might get the necklace broken up and get a shorter necklace and a bracelet made out of it. Thoughts?

I also found a freshwater pearl necklace also on amazing sale that has pearls that are 6-7mm and is 18" in length. This necklace is a bit shorter than the other, but I'm still not sure about the length...

Please share your thoughts on these sizes and how suitable you think they would be for everyday or evenings out for a 26 year-old! :yes:

TIA!!! :flowers:

Thanks Brodies!

I'm just wondering though...does it vary at all from person to person, depending on physique? Meaning, if you have a thinner neck, would you want smaller pearls?

my own pearls are approx. 6 mm (within a strand they will vary a little bit) and they are choker (sp?) length... I think it's great length, very versatile, I wore them with my wedding gown, I wear them with suits, and I wear them for nights out (not that there are many of those anymore, with a toddler in the house!)

Someone told me that 8mm and 18 inches were good for both day and eve??

Also that anything over 9.5 mm and 18 in & under is evening only?

I want to buy a new strand (I have some old ones from the 80s that are 16 in. and about 6mm) but I want to get the right ones. Even though, I have a skinny neck, my old pearls seem too small and the strand too short.

What brands are good?