Myspace : your general advices for newbies ??

mellecyn

O.G.
Feb 28, 2006
Is Myspace overrated, overdone ?? maybe... but for non american people -at least the French lol- it's still quite exciting !!
I would like to have a page for networking -since I have a BF and no intentions of flirting online- like a friendly professional page (I am a Designer). I am already on strictly professional websites (very limited and targeted, serious and boring) and Friendster (for friends and people, no blog).
So Myspace could be in between, more open and visible than these 2, but it seems so uncontrolable and open that it's almost scary, most of the girls' profiles
I see there act like sl*tbags..... so how to do it efficiently and safely and for something else than sexual, flirt and tease ???

Your advices for newbies in general ???
-Username : which "kind" would/do you use ?
-How to target towards ppl with same interests ?
-What do you personally use Myspace for ?
-And how to navigate in general ?
-How about personalizing the page (background, music, videos, fonts...) ?
-More advices ??? opinions ?? learnings ??

I will give you advice for anywhere on the internets, and then I have a question about MySpace too.

First, do not let your user name, email address, or anything you ever post on the internet contain ANYTHING that relates to your real life identity or location. And that includes photos of yourself and loved ones, especially children.

You may trust the nice person you have gotten to know so well with your name, even phone number and address.

But do you trust the person who breaks into your nice friend's house, or their computer, and gets hold of all the data there, including information that could enable them to find and harm you or your family?

Just like real life, most people are good and honest people who would never do anything like that.

So it's easy for us to forget that ANYBODY, including not-so-nice people, can read anything we post here, to MySpace - anywhere!