Where is the QUALITY?? (spinoff re: “Are there any handbags NOT made in China?”)

Oct 17, 2007
Since this thread is only loosely related to the “made in China” thread, I decided not to derail that thread, but to start a new one. And let me also say from the outset that my intention is not to slam anyone who buys any of the products from the designers I mention below—we all love what we love and I’m not here to judge!

Now, I’m not ancient or anything—but at the risk of dating myself, I’ve been buying designer handbags for 20+ years. And one thing has become patently obvious to me is that across the board, quality is declining precipitously and prices are rising sharply. Not to sound like an old fart—but there really, truly used to be a time when there was a reasonable correlation between paying more for something and getting a better made product. Now? Not so much.

Profit has always been the bottom line for purveyors and manufacturers of goods across the spectrum, but at what point does it just become the raping of consumers? I think we’re getting mighty close. How do businesses increase profit? Here are some ways: outsource; automate; cut corners in materials and workmanship; increase prices; decrease staff/customer service; and cut back on aftermarket support of your products.

ALL of these things are happening within the designer handbag market. Across the board, from lower-priced contemporary designers right up the ladder to premier designers, we’re seeing the effects of these practices. My own experience/familiarity with brands across the spectrum—Coach, D&B, RM, Mulberry, Proenza, Bal, Chanel, and LV come to mind—has borne this out.