How would you react in this situation?

eucalyptic

Aug 19, 2006
I've been working at the same place for the last 10 years and consistently received an evaluation of employee exceeds expectation and things have so far been great until today. I work at a location where there is a constant flow of expensive equipment and I have often lamented to my bosses about the shoddy security system in our location where we have seen multiple thefts of small items which when compounded still cost a good chunk of money. Three years ago we lost 40 pieces of equipment which cost around $600 each and it was only then that they decided to install a security camera within the premises.

Today four more items of significant value were taken and when the camera was viewed, it was apparent that someone had deliberately unplugged the security camera from the network, causing the screen to darken, thereby unable to record any activity. The last captured video was of the door left open (nobody caught on cam) and in two seconds the camera was off.

I come to work an hour earlier than my coworkers since I live an hour away and avoid traffic with this schedule. When my boss was going through the footage, the time frame during which the camera was supposedly disabled was within the hour that I arrive and before everyone else did. This is what transpired during the conversation:

Boss: "Eucalyptic, did you go to the XXX on the morning of XXX?
Me: "Friday? No, I didn't go, in fact I've never been to XXX in weeks."
Boss: "Well according to this, the camera looks like it was deliberately turned off on XXX at this time in the morning. You're the only one who comes in here that morning."
Me: (Already feeling dejected and appalled at the insinuation.) "No, I don't think I did, specially since that was the day I had that very important presentation for XXX."
Boss: "Yeah but this happened earlier than your presentation."