Gong to Paris on monday,

SuzyZ

Francophile
Nov 2, 2005
I want to buy a bag, I've been doing the LV's for a few years and think they are the best deals to be had there - money IS an object, so that makes it tough - staying on Ave. Montaigne, so I'll be tempted everyday - where would you send me????? Thanks for ideas ladies!

From my experience with making many handbag purchases in Paris, it is slightly cheaper and you get your taxes back if you spend over 150 Euros. I never bought LV's in Paris, but bought many, many, many Dior bags. :smile:

I had wonderful luck at the boutique for un après-midi de chien (if you like bright, funky nylon bags). They were far cheaper and had better designs than are available in the states. Make great souvenirs for your friends!
The store is right on the Metro, here's the address:
32, rue Etienne Marcel
75002 Paris
tel 01 04 39 00 07

Ladies, can you tell me exactly what you have to do to get your taxes back? Thank you!

TropicalGal, you will need to spend the require amount in the shop, fill in a VAT (value added tax) form, when you leave Europe, take the form and goods to the VAT counter at the airport, get the custom to sign and stamp the form, you can get the VAT back as cash straight away or credit to your credit card (this will take at least 6 weeks), when this is done, you can put all the goods back into your suitcase and check in at the airline counters.

I want to buy a bag, I've been doing the LV's for a few years and think they are the best deals to be had there - money IS an object, so that makes it tough - staying on Ave. Montaigne, so I'll be tempted everyday - where would you send me????? Thanks for ideas ladies!

How about Balenciaga or Chanel bags? actually all European labels (especially French labels) are cheaper with tax refund.