Question about comfortable shoes for foot problems

Collie5

Jul 25, 2012
I am still kind of new to TPF so please excuse me if this has been covered in any discussion prior.
I have always been CRAZY for shoes and had a closet full of beautiful designer shoes in the past. Six years ago I developed an extremely painful foot condition called Plantar Fasciitis. (PF) According to the doctor it was caused over time by wearing too many shoes (and flip flops) that had no arch support. I used to put up with a little pain for the sake of wearing a fashionable shoe, but when you develop PF believe me, it is NOT a pain you can just "deal with". Mine was almost depilitating at one point.
Mine was so bad that I have had to endure three sets of painful injections of cortizone into my heels. Finally after a year of treatment it has gotten much better, but the doctor said it will always be there so I can NEVER go barefoot, (EVER) and can never wear shoes that do not have arch support. (I can use arch support orthotic inserts if the shoe will accomodate them.
Here is my EXCEEDINGLY frustrating dilemma- finding FASHIONABLE, pretty and cute shoes and sandals that meet the needs of my painful feet. I love flats, but so many have very thin, flat as a pancake soles and will not accomodate and orthotic insert.
Does anyone here have the same problem and if so what shoe brands can you suggest? The only brands I can wear without inserts are Naot, Mephisto and those type of sandals. Yes, they are "earthy", but I have been able to find some styles that are not as ugly that can be worn in casual circumstances.
Fall and winter does give a little more choices due to the closed shoes and boots that I can fit an orthotic into, but spring and summer is SO hard. I want those cute open sandal in the bright colors and cute styles SO bad! I have literally left the shoe department in tears more than once.