Dry Cleaning Disaster: Are my Legacy Silk Scarves Ruined?!

moxie799

In Love with Legacy
O.G.
Dec 21, 2008
I tried doing a search to see if this has been discussed before - if so, I apologize for posting a duplicate question, but I couldn't find anything related to this in my search... So, here goes:

I sent my silk Coach scarves to the dry cleaner... This is my first time getting a few of them cleaned, including a couple of the 65th Anniversary Legacy scarves. Out of 11 total, 2 of them - one with the gold lozenge logo and one with the gold carriage logo - were ruined. :crybaby: It looks like the gold metallic 'whatever' that was used to create the logos flaked off and stained the rest of the scarf - there are these funny streaks all over the silk now, and the logos themselves are faded and dull - more tan than gold.

(For the record, the dry cleaner said it's a "manufacturer defect," and not from her cleaning process - and that she'd write a letter for me if I wanted to try to exchange them at Coach (which is not possible since they're from 2007/2008 collections). But, she was up-front and seemed sincere, and I could tell she felt bad...)

Soo, I'm wondering - Has anyone else with this style scarf seen/experienced this before? Or with any style scarf? Is there any way to get the stains out now? I'm so disappointed, but I'm kind of at the point where I'll try anything, just to see if it works, since the scarves are technically already ruined...

Here's a before picture, so you can see the gold logos I'm referring to. It's the two scarves in the bottom row that are ruined - the carriage logo, and you can see the start of the "EST" on the striped one. Sorry I don't have better pics - this one was the quickest to link to... I'll try to post a pic of the "after" photos soon! TIA!!
picture.php