Wow, bad luck with handbag buyers on eBay lately!

lorihmatthews

A taste for the arts
O.G.
Oct 7, 2006
Sorry, this is pretty long but I have to share ...

I've been buying and selling on eBay since 1999, and I have to say that people are getting harder and harder to work with these days! I have been paring down my handbag collection to make room for new and I have had so many troublesome buyers. More so now than ever before. Usually I only run into problems right before the holidays (that's when I have the most non-paying bidders) but it's really bad right now. Here's what I've had to deal with in the last 2 weeks:

1. I was completely insulted by a "buy it now" offer from a potential bidder for my Fendi medium sized B Bag. She offered me $200! I wrote her back and asked her to kindly not insult me. Finally, I got a legit buyer who paid $800, but I still took a pretty big loss on that one.

2. I have a zero feedback buyer, who won my $100 Fendi baguette, and who has never responded. She was the only bidder so I can't offer it to anyone else.

3. After the auction ended for my $199 green Luella Bartley, someone emailed me and asked if I would accept $150. I said sure. Then she asked if I would wait a week so she could bid on another one of my bags. I reluctantly said OK. Not only did she not bid on the other bag like she said she would, but she wanted to drop the price for the green bag another $25. I said no, we agreed to $150. No response from her. I sent her an invoice but I doubt she'll pay.

4. Last night I sold an LV Speedy. I received this email from the buyer after the auction ended:

I can pick up the bag from you place sometime next weekend. How about you withdraw from ebay, and give me a better price? I can pay you cash in person. That way you can save shipping, ebay charge and Paypal charge. I mean you can just pass the saving to both of us. Since we are so close by, I really don't want to pay so much to them. Hope you can consider. Thank you very much.