Does Any Other Handbag Hold Its Value Like a Balenciaga?

lovelygarments

Kay
O.G.
Nov 24, 2006
I thought this would be an interesting/enlightening discussion. :yes: There seems to be a diehard group of collectors for Balenciaga handbags which helps to support its resale price. IMO, that is directly linked to the same identical style being produced yearly in different colors and leather textures. I have now become an addict. And an extremely happy addict. :love: Question One: Why do you think that Balenciaga handbags hold their value? Question Two: Are there other handbags out there that hold their values like Balenciaga? Here is one that I have noticed - the now retired Stephen Sprouse Graffiti line for Louis Vuitton. I don't have any, but I would love to have a speedy in graffiti.

Great thread idea! V interested to see what people have to say on this... I'm a total newbie to bbags and have just one sooo gorgeous bag in my collection so far, but I thought very long and hard before investing. Answer to question 1 (IMO) cos they are just so very desirable, understated and stylish - timeless really ... and question 2 - well you have those cult bags out there that cost mega mega mega bucks... My DH just couldn't believe it when I showed him a pic of a bag that cost almost 20K$ :wtf:

I haven't even told him how much my Bbag cost. He wouldn't do anything useful with that kind of information :whistle: Looking forward to hearing the views of others....

Some brands I can think of are Hermes and Chanel - aren't they pretty comparable in how well they hold their value - or not? I have never been obsessed w/any brand other than Balenciaga, so I don't know...