Its BEE season!

CobaltBlu

Butterfly Wrangler
O.G.
Oct 20, 2006
NOTE: I bumped this thread today because it's bee season again in warmer areas, and want to make sure you are aware!

I thought I would start this thread in GD because as it gets warmer people are going to start seeing bees around, and possibly swarms of honeybees.

I am currently taking beekeeping classes and working with a beekeeping mentor. I am just starting out but if anyone has any questions please post them here and I will try to help or find out any answers from my beekeeper colleagues :heart:

I know lots of people are afraid of bees, and I totally understand that.

But bees are declining worldwide, and you can tell from my siggy that I am trying to do my little part to help :heart:

We have a gardening for honeybees thread HERE in Home and Garden, and there is a link in signature with more information.

Last edited:
Reactions: najse22
This is a picture of a honeybee SWARM:

attachment.php

Basically, it is a ball of bees hanging on to each other with their Queen in the center, protected by the worker bees. A swarm happens when its it time for a hive to split. The old queen takes off with worker bees who have filled their stomachs with honey.

They land in a tree (or mailbox, or anywhere they think is safe) and wait for their scouts to find a new location for their new home.

At this stage, because they are so vulnerable, they are quite docile, and because their stomachs are full of honey, it is difficult for them to sting. They are just focused on staying together and protecting the queen....

If you see this CALL A BEEKEEPER, NOT a pest control company. There are beekeeper organizations in every state, and in many large cities. A beekeeper can easily remove a swarm and will be so grateful for the opportunity in most cases.