are suits still required for interviews?

ally24k

I.Heart.Bags
Apr 18, 2006
I have a 2nd round interview with an aerospace company on Thursday. I wore a Theory suit to my 1st round interview. However, when they emailed me for my 2nd round, they said I'll be taking tours of labs so for safety purposes, don't wear heels or open-toed shoes. Unfortunately, as an engineer, I only own my one Theory suit that is hemmed for 3" heels.

Can I just wear a pair of black slacks hemmed for flats and a dress shirt? I can also wear a jacket but it won't completely match (ie black slacks with brown blazer or something). Plus CA weather is in the high 80s already.

Lol for my current job I remember having the second round of in person interviews and having to run out to buy a new suit since I had already worn my only one! I think in your case it sounds like they're not expecting you to be dressed up, and the black slacks, flats and a nice shirt sound appropriate for the situation. Good luck with round two!

Hmmm, that's tough. Deep down I think it would be fine for you to go in black slacks and a dress shirt, but I would always err on the side of formal for a job interview, especially at an aerospace company. Any way you could borrow another suit or buy a matching jacket for your black pants? I would just hate for you to lose the job and then worry about whether it was because of your attire! It's just one of those things I would want off my "worry list."

I have a 2nd round interview with an aerospace company on Thursday. I wore a Theory suit to my 1st round interview. However, when they emailed me for my 2nd round, they said I'll be taking tours of labs so for safety purposes, don't wear heels or open-toed shoes. Unfortunately, as an engineer, I only own my one Theory suit that is hemmed for 3" heels.