Merino wool vs lambswool vs cashmere vs I'm confused

Oct 30, 2011
So...I'm a newbie to Burberry but jumping right in.

What is the real difference between when a scarf says lambswool or merino wool? I have a scarf 90% merino wool/10% cashmere.

Also, is the price point typically different? (Kind of want to know if I got a good deal or not and just wanted to compare the regular prices)

I know cashmere can cost much more than wool typically, but is that true for Burberry...and is the type of wool make a difference? Thank you!

I hope I'm able to help you out with several questions you've had. (:
First off, at Burberry, we have several types of scarves:
- Cashmere wool.
- Cashmere wool / (other) wool blend.
- Cashmere wool / silk blend.
- Silk.
- Fur.

Cashmere is wool collected from the Cashmere goat.
Merino wool is wool that comes from the Merino sheep. It's ranked as one of the top tiers in wool quality. Weighs lighter than Cashmere wool.
Lambswool is much more common and is collected during the first shearing of a lamb.
Price points usually depends on the materials, pattern, length/thickness, the quality of the scarf and the softness and warmth (averaging at $325 - $950)
Nearly each price is different, but some of the same styles range around $350.

I hope I'm able to help you out with several questions you've had. (:
First off, at Burberry, we have several types of scarves:
- Cashmere wool.
- Cashmere wool / (other) wool blend.
- Cashmere wool / silk blend.
- Silk.
- Fur.

Cashmere is wool collected from the Cashmere goat.
Merino wool is wool that comes from the Merino sheep. It's ranked as one of the top tiers in wool quality. Weighs lighter than Cashmere wool.
Lambswool is much more common and is collected during the first shearing of a lamb.
Price points usually depends on the materials, pattern, length/thickness, the quality of the scarf and the softness and warmth (averaging at $325 - $950)