Make Up Must Haves!!??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Girls whats the must haves when it comes to make-up?? i need some ideas since im new to most make up and want to start having a big collection?

Absolute essentials (generically speaking):
- moisturizer with sunscreen (and a good cleanser too)
- loose powder or blotting papers
- mascara
- lipstick, lipgloss, balm or a lip stain

...for me, the above plus:
- primer for under foundation
- liquid foundation (mineral doesn't work on me)
- concealer for under eye circles and corrections (I am very ruddy, for example)
- blush (and contour)
- eye liner

Hope this helps! Are you looking for specific brands?

Tips: Do you look better with a blue-red tones, or peachy-brown tones, etc? Go through all the colors in that range at counters where you can sample and test them to your heart's content.

Don't go by what the SA shows you on their hand; many times it will look completely different on your own skin! An SA tried a pretty pinky beige color on her skin, and when I tried it, it looked like rust on my MAC NC25 skin! At the beginning, just sample sample and sample all over. Sephora is another great place to try things out without them breathing down your back and the lighting in the stores are pretty good.

My must haves (black hair, brown eyes):
clear red lipstick
black eyeliner
black mascara
yellow tone highlighting eyeshadow
mineral foundation
liquid foundation
eyebrow powder
face primer (I use Smashbox)

smudge brush
eyeshadow "mop" brush

Good brushes I like are: MAC and NARS, Sephora's Pro brushes. I've also got a few brushes I pick up from craft stores, just pick the softest from Loews Cornell.
Most makeup I like are MAC, Dior and Chanel. Revlon and L'Oreal are good to start with because they are affordable and very respectable lines. Good drugstore brushes: Sonia Kashuk and EcoTools.

Absolute essentials (generically speaking):
- moisturizer with sunscreen (and a good cleanser too)