Workplace A thread for the unemployed

Sternchen

O.G.
May 16, 2006
Hey guys,

I thought it would be a neat idea to get a thread going for those of us who are on the hunt for jobs.

I have been looking for work since the end of March and I haven't found anything yet. I am a recent graduate with a degree in Business Administration. My grades weren't the best but they weren't bad either. I'm a mom of 3, so that's my excuse ;)

I have sent out about 60 applications and have had a few interviews, but nobody has wanted to hire me. I have even applied at temp agencies and they haven't been able to find me anything either!

I'm starting to get depressed about the situation and feel like I'll never find a job. I'm 26. *sigh*

It seems like companies want people who are under 25, no kids, 10 years of work experience, a mastes or even better a doctorate...blah blah. :sad:

What have been your experiences?

I understand exactly what you are going through, OP. I have been laid off twice in the last two years and no matter what I do and how many interviews I go on, nothing has seemed to click, career-wise. Ever since I graduated from university in 2005, I have had a hard time finding a stable career. It took me a whole year after graduation to find work in my field, and then I was laid off in 2009 because of the recession. I decided then to go back to school for a post-grad diploma to expand my skill set/become more marketable. After graduating from that program in spring 2010 and landing a new job right away, I was downsized again in February 2011. Six months of endless searching, networking, and interviewing is really taking its toll on me. I'm confused and feeling lost about what to do next. I just turned 30, and I never thought I would still be struggling like this at this point in my life.