asked seller to relist item, did i do the right thing?

nursie

selective hoarder
O.G.
Sep 29, 2010
hi there! i'm fairly new to tpf and usually hang out in the coach forum.

i'm certainly not new to buying on ebay, but 99.9% of the time my transactions have gone remarkably smooth. recently however i had a weird situation come up and i took a look around here reading everyone's posts.

anyway, i just thought i'd ask if there was another way to handle this one or if i did the right thing. i hate being a pita customer online or in store. i'm one of those that hates to return things, etc.

a purse was up for bid or BIN, but at the bottom of her description she had written 'make me an offer, i'll proably take it'. well, i waited for the auction to end because i figured if someone else really wanted it they could have it for the price she had as a starting bid. after there were no bids on the purse, i sent her a message and gave her my offer.

she immediately replied back and said she'd mail the bag out the next day, i just needed to give her my paypal email and she'd send me an invoice.

well ebay has a big message splattered all over her email that if the seller is trying to sell outside of ebay you should report it. i wasn't sure if this is selling outside of ebay or what.....so i messaged her back that i wanted to stick with purchasing through ebay, so if she would relist.

she was great and did just that and i got my bag. but since i've never sold on ebay was there another way to have handled it? i didn't realize you have to pay as a seller each time to relist something.

tia and sorry if my story is a dumb one lol i just really don't know!