Problem w/a pearl bracelet

nillacobain

Authenticator
O.G.
Jun 9, 2008
Hi ladies. I got this lovely pearls bracelet from my mother's aunt as a graduation gift last August (2010). She bought it from her trusted jeweller and she told me that the clasp is made by white gold. I have worn it 2-3x times. I take care of my jewellery so it is like new. Today I was putting away my necklace and decided to have a look at the bracelet:P. Well, the pearls are peeling near the hole drilled through them... so I guess they are not real pearls. I'm not an expert but they feel really cold when you touch them and of course it would have been really rude asking my aunt if they were real or fake (I actually don't care since I love the bracelet). So my question is: is it normal that fake pearls peel after wearing them 2-3 times? The pearls are burgundy and I can see the white "thing" under the colored layer. I told this to my mother (on the phone) and she asked me if the bracelet came w/a certificate of guarantee or something like this but it didn't. Now ... as I said I love the bracelet so I don't care if they are fake pearls, etc but do you think it would be rude to tell it to my mother's aunt? The rest of the bracelet is absolutely flawless so I'm sure that the peeling is not my fault. I'll try to post pics later. Thank you in advance for your help.

Odds are they aren't fake pearls. I have seen many real painted freshwater pearls do the same thing. I had a burgandy pearl necklace od dyed freshwater pearls I exchanged 3 times due to peeling before simply requesting my money back.

Don't know if that helps, but I've been told its common with painted pearls.

^Thank you for your reply.

Here there are the pictures: it's very hard to capture the peeling with my camera (also, please ignore the messy background).

08112010335.jpg

08112010336.jpg

08112010337.jpg

08112010341.jpg

08112010342.jpg

Are you sure those are pearls? It looks more like coral to me.