Need help on my 1st Chanel! Can't make up my mind!!!!

dorayakiw

Sep 21, 2010
I finally decided to get my 1st Chanel. As I am not a big fan of purses, I would want this purse to be classy and suitable for most occasions, since it's unlikely for me to purchase another expensive purse in the next XX years.

As you can probably tell I'm not a Chanel expert, please feel free to give me any suggestions. Thanks :biggrin:

- My height: 5' 5'' (165cm)
- Occasions: Mostly dinners, weddings, definitely not everyday use. In general, I'm a careful person, i.e. I won't throw my purse anywhere and I'll treat it gently.
- Bag colour: Black (the only thing i'm sure about)

Here are my four questions.

- Style: Classic flap vs. Reissue (I prefer classic flap only due to the "smooth bulging" lambskin look, as Reissue seems "cracked up":P)

- Hardware: Gold vs. Silver (I like gold because I heard gold&black is the most classic combination but I also saw people saying silver is easier to match up with clothing)

- Size: Medium vs. Jumbo OR 226 vs. 227

- Leather: Lambskin vs. Caviar (as I said, I like the baby-soft lambskin look, but I heard it's easily scatched up and might "deflate" in the future, and caviar is a lot more durable)

Any tips will be appreciated. Thank you ;)

I was in the same dilemma as you last month, and am still Chanel-less!

Why don't you try on the bags in a Chanel shop? I spent days fussing over the same questions as you, which was resolved after 1 brave day of stepping into a store. My choice: M/L classic flap, lambskin. Chose the size due to my height and frame (5"2, slender...jumbo looked bulky on me). I decided on lambskin, because, frankly, caviar aged me (sorry to the many caviar lovers here...it's just me!). I am not so much for a Reissue, because, 1stly, the price daunts me, 2ndly, the classic flap looks "classier" with its puffy quilting and that iconic CC lock.