Quick ways to jazz up a wardrobe?

Hi ladies and gents, PFers are a fashionable set and I was hoping that you could give me some advice...

I'm a grad student/TA who desperately needs some life injected into her wardrobe. My daily uniform is almost ALWAYS: jeans, flat boots (or flats), solid color knit shirt or v neck cashmere sweater if it's cold. I throw in a tweed blazer at times, but I must own 3 tweed blazers that look exactly the same. My wardrobe's a snooze, which works well for me when I'm teaching (I switch the jeans for dress pants and look bland and professional, which is what I'm going for). But I don't have to teach for the next 9 months (whoo-hoo!!) and I would like to be stylish again for awhile! Any suggestions on some easy pieces to throw into my wardrobe to jazz up my look? Again, I'm a grad student, so I either need to spend my money on one or two pieces of nicer clothing or several cheaper pieces...I don't have a huge budget for this overhaul. If you had around $300 dollars to spend, what would you buy?

A little about me, just for the record: I'm 5'9", a size 10, and curvy. I do have a bust, so nothing too low cut, I look trashy in really sparse tops!

I really appreciate this! I promise to model any pieces I end up buying on this thread!

Haha, responding to my own thread, I've been looking around, just curious, how do you feel about these items:

Just the top here...

p11256853_ph_hero.jpg

They have this one in blue too...

p11256853_ph_althero_Navy.jpg

I would definitely have to wear some spanx with the blue one though, looks a little flimsy...

I really like these shoes, much dressier than my ordinary ones though, also come in a tan color...

71108_grn_frt

This just looks so fresh and pretty, but I don't know what I would wear it with other than jeans or white pants, which I avoid like the plague...
620287_grn_frt