Any Serious Art Collectors?

winternight

Apr 9, 2006
I'd love to learn more about collecting art, both for fun and as an investment. I was just wondering if anyone on TPF collected art. I'd eventually love to get a Ross Bleckner painting and a Marylin Minter photo/painting!

Well, yes, we do have a small art collection. I'm not an expert at all, but over the years we have purchased a few things that to us are pretty special. I have several ballerina oil paintings by a Russian artist and two large beautiful landscape oil paintings, one by a local artist. After Christmas we bought another landscape painting and I am waiting impatiently for it to be framed. The gallery should be calling any day.

Oh, I almost forgot... our family room is an entirely different style of decor than the rest of the house and the first pieces of art that I bought are proudly hung there. They are Haitian oil paintings! All these years I still sit and stare at them.

This is a fun topic!

We used to be just focused on collecting one style of oils but have sold a number of pieces & are now collecting a wider variety of styles. I love mixing modern with old now. Love the look!
Timing the market for investment is tough to do. Collect what you love & you'll never go wrong.

I wish I had the room in my house to hang more original art! We have quite a few friends who are artists (I dabble as well) so most of our artwork is theirs/mine. We have tons of books on the artists we like and until we hit the lottery, that is as far as it goes for now.

A few years ago, my bro and I bought a painting costing about US$70 equivalent - that's the only painting I've ever bought :smile: If I had money, I'd buy art that I like.

First a disclaimer: I don't own Etsy nor am I related to any of the people who run it. There are some superb artists on Etsy, please check them out for yourselves, feel free to disagree, though :smile:

Etsy :: Etsy Painters! What's your favorite painting in someone else's shop?