Huh? I don't get this...

me44

Jul 17, 2007
I'm new to selling on ebay. One of my auctions ended yesterday with a winning bid of $69.00.

This afternoon I get this email from the buyer:

"Hello I am very sorry. I am not able to make this purchase. I am sooo sorry. :sad:"

I honestly don't even understand the concept of bidding and not paying.

Also, this is a newbie question, but if I leave this buyer negative feedback, can they just turn around and do the same to me?

You cannot leave negative feedback for buyers unfortunately. Your best option is to cancel the auction. Then you will get the fees back. Use google to search and you can find directions on the eBay website.

There are so many buyers like that. I sold an item and I did not hear from the buyer. 3 days later I email, and she replies "I will pay sometime in the next 5 days." Today days later she writes, "I will pay Wednesday. Or thursday if I am too tired when I get home Wednesday." :confused1::confused1: Why does the buyer think it is ok to bid and not pay? Or to bid and pay 1 week later?

Sorry...... rant but I understand your frustration!

You can't leave them a neg, because sellers can't leave buyers negs anymore.

Did she give a reason, at all? Perhaps something unforeseen happened to prevent her paying?

She sounds very apologetic, to be fair to her.

You can't leave the bidder a negative. Only bidders can leave negatives to sellers, not vice versa. What you can do is start the non-paying bidder process to get your fees back. By doing so, you will (1) prevent the bidder from leaving you any feedback at all, negative or otherwise and (2) give the bidder a non-paying strike. Many sellers limit the number of strikes a bidder can get if they bid on their auctions. So, the NPB strikes are a very good method of keeping the non-paying bidders in check.

p-WA