Buyer wants me to ship the bag as gift, any protection for sellers?

numeroo

Jul 9, 2009
Hi ladies,

I'm selling a bag around $500 on eBay, and an international buyer wants me to ship the item and put it as gift, is it okay to do so? This is my first time to ship internationally, so I'm not very sure about the difference gift vs goods...If i put it as gift but I also buy insurance, would there be protection for me if anything bad happens?

Thank you!!

Don't do it.
It is you who are lying on the customs form, and if discovered, that could get you both in trouble. Buyer is trying to save some money on import taxes, but its illegal to do so and please, for your own sake, politely decline this to the buyer.
If in doubt, search for the thread started by member "itsonly4me", who had a nightmare with customs in Australia.... Please, don't do it. Its not worth the hassle you *might* get yourself into....

Don't mark it as a gift and declare the whole value. There have been a few people on here that have gone through hell because they underdeclared something along with marking it as a gift.

"To my International buyers, I will not mark as a gift nor will I change the price on the customs form. Please, do not ask.
Buyer is responsible for all VAT and/or customs duties"

Put that in your auction and then when they ask, just refer to that line and tell them you won't do it. The bay will completely back you (?) or so they say if you have that disclaimer in your ad.

You are the one who would be lying on a Federal form and you just don't want the grief that could come your way. It probably won't happen, but you don't want to be the one in hundred that it does happen to.