How Easy to Store/Access Items In/Out of A Kelly

Oct 17, 2006
I am new to Hermes, and am planning to get my first Hermes bag, either a Birkin or a Kelly. Judging on the handle/opening design, I think the Birkin is better. With a Birkin, I can leave the bag open all the time by keeping the front flap inside the bag. This way, I can take my wallet and cell phone in and out of the bag at will. However, with the Kelly, I have to keep it closed and locked in order to carry it by the handle, thus making it very inconvenient to shop. Am I right?

Please convince me that I am wrong, because the Kelly looks so elegant.

I have said it before and I will say it again...

the Kelly is elegant, but it is a "take your time kind of bag". You can't get it in and out fast. It is as if you need to enjoy the bag when you use it. The birkin would be the better option if you want quick access all the time. I do not like to leave my Kelly opened...I feel it stresses the top of the bag.

I do love Kellys though....you just have to be willing to use them with care and take your time...you know...slow the pace of your life down a bit!

You have reached Roses' cellphone. I am now resting in her Kelly. Pease leave a message and Rose will get back to you the next time she absolutely has to open her Kelly..........

I LOVE the look of Kelly:heart: ! Kelly is such a beautiful bag!!! However, I don't get along with Kelly:sad: ! It drives me nuts to deal with opening and closing each time using Kelly. I get left behind of all my friends when I go out with them to close my bag if I open Kelly to buy something...:hysteric: !

Hmmmm...clemance shoulder Birkin is WAY too easy access....I lost my car key...it just fell out of my bag:crybaby: . Clemance is very slouchy leather and shoulder birkin opening is wide...So, my car key just decided to jump out of the bag!