Classic Edith Owners: How does this bag wear over time?

Loquita

May 16, 2008
Hi everyone,

As you know I am new to Chloe (though learning quickly) and I have tons of questions for you all...your patience is truly appreciated. :biggrin:

I couldn't find an answer to this one anywhere, but Lescoy please feel free to close this thread if I simply wasn't looking in the right place.

I am looking at two different Ediths (one classic in red, one hobo in muscade) and am a bit lost. They are similar in price, but the classic one has some light wear on the corners.

Is corner wear on the classic Edith typical? And how do those of you with classic Ediths deal with it? Conditioning?

Any info. is helpful, thanks so much!!! (Including any info. on which one you would buy, and why).

:flowers:

I use to own an edith and found it to be very durable. Mine was the satchel, which is a bit larger and was in chocolate brown (not sure of the exact color name.) I've owned several Chloe bags and in my experience they can take a lot of abuse. Some of the lighter colors may fade, or experience color transfer, but the darker colors should stay looking new for a while if you treat them with care. I have to admit that I gave my brown satchel a beating, and by the time I sold it, there was some light wear on the corners, but IMO, if the bag is showing wear it hasn't just been carried a handful of times, it's been carried consistently for a while. Chloe isn't like Balenciaga, where wear might turn up after a few times. Good luck!

The Edith satchel will wear on the corners - basically due to the shape of the bag and the fact its probably going to get bumped a bit and you are going to set it down- even though it does have 'feet'.

The Hobo is much more rounded of course and is less likely - IMO - to get worn - although it will still come into contact with clothing etc.