Women in finance

ajc405

Sep 25, 2008
Hello!

I am a student doing a paper for my sociology class called Fashion and Power.

For women in investment banking, or in finance: can you post some pictures of what you wear on a day-to-day basis?

Also, what do you think is considered work-appropriate? I find many articles in fashion magazines relating to work outfits are not professional enough (or too pretty) for women who work in finance.

Do you find that sometimes you must dress down your best assets for work?

Do you find that other women judge you when you are dressed too pretty? And men don't take you seriously?

Thanks all for your input!! :biggrin::yahoo::P

Annie

Last edited:
It depends. some bank require business formal, which means suit and tie for guys everyday. So for girls most of the time it will be jacket required at meetings and collared shirt otherwise.
Skirt suits are more formal than pant suit, close toe shoes, skirts no higher than the tip of your finger when you put your arms down. those are some pretty standard tests for business formal.

For some who work in business casual firms, normal day - to - day wear is a bit more flexible.

It is a male dominated industry but IMO instead of trying to be like one of the guys, if a girl can she should always dress her best in a feminine way. First of all, it gives me a huge confidence boost when I'm looking my best and in my heels. Second, guys appreciate a girl who dresses well ( anywhere, especially in banking since attention to detail is a big deal ) and not to mention it's amazingly refreshing to see someone other than the usual suit and tie at work. Finally, dressing well (not necessarily flashy) is a presentation of confidence and power. (Nice tasteful watch, jewelry and shoes is similar to guys in terms of tie, watch, cuff links, metal pinned collar stays etc etc.)