Whats the right accent?

charmedmac

Addicted to Bags :)
Sep 21, 2007
I have looked and tried to find the right answer to this question but I cannot seem to find it.

Can somebody help me? I am an H newbie and I am doing my research regarding Birkins :smile:

What is the right angle of the accent above the E in hermes? :smile: I read an article in ebay that it should be parallel not angled but I also saw some authenticated birkins with angled accents...

what should the right one be? :smile: angled or parallel?

some additional info, just for fun:

the accent has a big impact on pronunciation - "Hermes" (no accent) would make the "es" portion of the word silent; "Hermés" (accent aigu) would make the "s" silent (^(oo)^)v

On a completly different note does anyone else feel stupid pronouncing Hermes with a french accent when say your native accent is not french (in my case British??)

On a completly different note does anyone else feel stupid pronouncing Hermes with a french accent when say your native accent is not french (in my case British??)
Yes, totally!!! Not only in British context, but in my mothertongue too - so I just pronounce it as the Greeks would (except in French territory :biggrin:).

mudmud, papertiger - thanks! :peace:

syma - i actually don't find it strange at all to pronounce it the French way . . . the way i see it, Hermès is the founder's last name, and i always pronounce peoples' last names the way they pronounce them, which is usually somewhat close to the way it sounds in their native language, at least in my experience . . . . of course, i could also just be delusional, it's been known to happen occasionally . . . tehe (^(oo)^)v