I bought a bag from Ebay...turned out to be a fake...what can I do?

Blondie_Lady

Jan 31, 2010
I paid £320 for a Mulberry bag which turned out to be fake. Wish I had known about this site before I bought as I didn't get anyone to authenticate it.

The seller wants me to mail it back to him before he issues me a refund.

However, I am wondering this:-
1. If I mail it back to him and he doesn't refund me, I have not got a leg to stand on. No bag = no evidence.
2. For me to mail it back to him by registered post (he is in another country) it will cost me about £15, which I will ultimately be at the loss of.

Does anyone know what I should do? I have yet to contact ebay about this. If I post it back and get no refund, I am at the loss of the £320 + the £15 it will have cost me to post it back...it's a huge risk.

what would you do?
Thank you

Here's my dilemma...I am only a newbie to this site, wish I had known about it before I got stung by Ebay!

I bought a Mulberry bag from Ebay for £320. It arrived yesterday and is most definately a fake.

I contacted the seller who said to post it back to them and they will then refund me. I have not yet contacted Ebay about this as I want to know where I stand.

I am not happy to post this bag back to the seller before I get a refund because
1. If the seller never refunds me, then I have no bag = no evidence
2. The cost to post the bag back will be £15 as the seller lives in another country
3. So if I post the bag back and the seller refunds me, he will only refund me the £320 for the bag, not for the postage I incurred for both having the bag sent to me and for sending the bag back....(I'll be at a loss of £30)
4. If the seller receives the bag from me and doesn't refund me, I am at the loss of £320 + £15 postage + £15 it cost for me to return bag = £350 loss.

What should I do?? Should I just return the bag? What if the seller doesn't refund me??

Help!
Thanks