most popular MJ bag styles

ang2383

O.G.
Dec 1, 2006
hi ladies, i'm new to the MJ thread and forum. i'm usually over in gucci and chanel. so i recently took a liking to MJ bags and i see a few i like. can you ladies tell me which ones are the more popular styles? the more sought after ones? classics? the type of bags that usually go on sale and not on sale? the bags that are repeated every season, but with slight changes (colors etc). and anything else.

this would help me a great deal so i can get an idea on how hard it would be for me to find a certain bag and which bag to get.

thanks so much!

btw: i just got my FIRST MJ - the jen in taupe. i am beyonnndddd excited :yahoo:

hi, ang! always good to see new names.

as for popular, i'd have to say the classics (blake, venetia, mp), the stam, and the striping line bags particularly the hudson and trish are the top three. the rare, hard to find sweet punk bags are up there on the list too.

the classics have been tweaked the past few seasons now and many of the original styles have been discontinued. the blake has more or less remained unchanged and in consistent rotation. the stam and its many gorgeous iterations are here to stay. the other two lines i've mentioned have been long discontinued. as for the bags that rarely go on sale, i would have to say most styles in the black. you're more likely to score a seasonal color for a good deal.

anyway, i hope the jen is the first of many mj bags for you! congrats again!

thanks guys! i feel so welcome already!

so would you say the jen is something that's not as popular (the palais royal line)?

i'm taking a liking to the cecelia too. i see one on sale, but not sure if i should jump on it.

tadpolenyc - i love the shoulder bag in your signature! it's soooo pretty. it makes me want one.

what particular styles do you like best? perhaps we can better guide you if we know what your preferences are, such as smooth or quilted, satchel vs shoulder vs tote, etc...