Kelly 35 - Desperately needing help!

annie_annie

Mar 28, 2009
Hi eveyone!

I am a newbie to Hermes.:smile:

Just very recently, i acquired my very 1st hermes bag.. actually it is my one & only at the moment.. A Retourne Kelly 35, Black Togo.

And just yesterday, I bought myself that Japanese Magazine, Hermes Super Catagloue.

In it, it states that the Kelly 35 measurements:
W35 x H24 x D18 (cm). Then, I took the measurement of my Kelly 35.

To my dismay, my Kelly 35 is: w35 x h24 x D12!! Imagine my horror & shock. So i quickly retrieved my receipt and it reads kelly35 on the receipt.

Then i remember that in this forum, under Hermès Reference Library, there a Size Reference Guide. And in there, it states that: Kelly35cm H28XW35XD18cm

So now i am really scared that there is something wrong with my Kelly.

IS THE HEIGHT 24CM OR 28CM?
AND
IS THE DEPTH 12CM OR 18CM?

Oh dear, i am now very CONFUSED!! Perhaps mine is the kelly32, not Kelly35.. meaning the boutique sold me the wrong size, cos i always only wanted a Kelly35, not 32, as i'm a big bag person.

I'm really sad and scared that there is really a mistake here... Can someone here please please tell me, what is the EXACT MEASUREMENT OF RETOURNE KELLY 35?

Sorry for my long post.. Thank you..:smile::smile:

Last edited:
Is the measurement you read in the magazine for a Sellier or Rotourne Kelly? All Kellys are handmade so there are bound to be some differences on each bag. A rotourne is softer and more pliable, so it's possible the measurement is a little off. The size of the Kelly is by the width, hence your Kelly is definitely a 35.

Hi dear, Did you buy your kelly from Hermes or a reseller? My 35cm kelly Retourne measures 35cmwide x 26cm high x 12 cm deep. I'm sure that your kelly is fine and maybe someone got mixed up with the measurements as the kelly is not as deep as the 35cm Birkin.