thigh high boots - how to wear in a non flashy way?

Sep 25, 2008
I am loving some of the thigh high boot styles that are coming out, but struggling to justify a purchase given my personal style, which is not what I would generally describe as 'flashy' (I'm a grad student, if that info helps). I'm loving the idea of a long sleeved, slouchy minidress, tights and boots, but I'd love to hear anyone else's suggestions.

Also, would you go for flat or heeled? I'm leaning towards flat just out of practicality - I think they'll be more wearable for me, but I'm 5 foot 5 and not long-legged so don't know how that will work.

Basically I would like help incorporating these into daytime outfits. What do you guys think?

I love over-the-knee boots! A few things you might want to consider:
- I'm 5'6 but hold most of my "length" in my legs - all of my boots are over the knee but hit lower than mid-thigh so they make my legs look super long
- I have flat and heeled versions. I wear the heeled version with skinnies, tees and sweaters - but I don't think I would wear them with a dress. However, while I wear my flat versions also with skinnies, I could see myself wearing them with a sweater dress or shorts. The look isn't so "over the top" when the heel is flatter.

:smile:

I agree with everyone else's suggestions so far. Skinny jeans and a loose top or def sweater dresses. Avoid wearing bodycon type dresses cause may end up lookin..well like a stripper. I would wear heeled ones only because i'm 5'4 and i need the extra height. I tried on over the knee flat ones and it did not look good on me.

I love over-the-knee boots! A few things you might want to consider:
- I'm 5'6 but hold most of my "length" in my legs - all of my boots are over the knee but hit lower than mid-thigh so they make my legs look super long