Best Shipping Carrier Recommended for Pricey Bags

hi there,

i am pretty new to selling and recently sold a bag for about $900. for those who sold pricey items before, which carrier would you recommend?

i was planning either fedex or ups. but reading accounts from various sources, it seems like fedex doesn't really offer "insurance". so i typed and asked, and they gave me the following response:

"FedEx does not offer insurance coverage. However, we provide protection for your shipment based on its "declared value" - our maximum liability in the event of damage or loss."

and from reading accounts, some people only get $100 reimbursement, even if their package was declared at a higher price. this makes me wary.

and then someone on tpf had their package tampered with while going through ups.
so that leaves me with usps, although there were a package i sent that got lost by them. i don't care for the prices. is it still considered safe to go with usps priority registered mail and signature confirmation?

i'm very wary and don't want to suffer any kind of loss, since i'm basically going to use this money for this semester.

what do you all say? help and opinions please. thanks.

I wouldn't go with 'registered mail', although that is the safest way to send something via the post office because it literally goes from safe to safe to safe and has to be accounted for each step of the way. Due to this it will take weeks to get there though and most people use it for valuables like expensive jewelery, bonds, coins etc. If you go with USPS I think you will be just fine with priority or express mail (if you're anxious), fully insured and sent with signature confirmation. I would never send an expensive item 'parcel post', that is the slowest way of shipping and that means it can be bumping around in the mail for a while.

I didn't know Fed-Ex didn't offer insurance, no I would not go that route. I think either UPS or USPS will be fine.

Linda