Marine or Tempete City?

sosaksy

Aug 22, 2008
Hello,

I'm fairly new to Balenciaga. I got my first one last November, a GGH Marine city. But now, Im thinking of getting a city with regular hardware instead because I think it's more classic. I can't really keep both bags, so what should I do, switch my GGH city for a city with regular hardware? I was thinking of getting the tempete city instead, with regular hardware, after seeing some of the pictures in this thread. What would you do?

I'd say keep the Marine.
Marine is the loveliest and a dark shade of blue. It goes with everything and is very chic. While GGH is heavy and bling bling, I'd say it's still a classic.

This is tough. I have a Marine '08 Day and a Tempete City. While the leather on my Marine is probably better, I think that I'm more fond of Tempete as I consider it a chameleon color. GGH is lovely, though I don't find it to be as versatile as RH. Since you seem to be inclined toward something more classic, I say go for the RH Tempete. Please post photos when you decide!

Both colors are really pretty, but which matters more to you -- hardware or color? It sounds like you're seriously contemplating an RH City, but if you still like Marine, how about holding out for a Marine RH City?

I would definitely not give up Marine GGH! I am in love with giant hardware, especially GOLD giant hardware. I recently got a RH but really it doesn't quite do it for me.

I'm partial to RH because GGH just doesn't work for me... I feel that RH is a more classic look that will better stand the test of time - but that's ME. Everyone has different tastes. I think you will need to decide which look you prefer. If you can, go to the store with your Marine GGH and try out the Tempete RH - and see which one works better on you.

ehc2010 - I'm sorry to hear the Aqua's not working out for you :sad: