Fading on magenta Ergo?

BattahZ

Jul 12, 2009
Hi all! I'm relatively new to TPF, and this is my first post on the Coach forum. I bought a magenta Ergo (I guess it's the pleated one, with the gold snaps in the middle) at an outlet a few months ago. It's gorgeous, but the leather color started fading pretty quickly. I've had to stop carrying it lately, since it's been rainy here and the rain doesn't help at all.

At the Coach store, they told me the leather on the Ergos doesn't need leather conditioner, and it's supposed to wear like that. But it seems like it's fading a bit too fast. Any suggestions for leather care, and maybe treatment?

Thanks!

The Apple Conditioner works on most of my bags and you can get it on line. But if you just purchased the bag and it is going downhill fast see if you can exchange it or get a credit...

That line is distressed leather, so it's kinda worn-in looking already.
Are you sure the color differentiation wasn't there when you purchased it?
It's not a "flat" all-over color to begin with.

I'll check out the Apple conditioner. I have Coach conditioner, but at the store they told me not to use it on this particular bag.

The color wasn't totally "flat" when I got it, but it's wearing along the insides of the straps pretty quickly (turning grayish/whitish) and along the edges. It just kinda looks like the color is rubbing off, though I would assume the dye would be more saturated and it wouldn't come off so quickly. The color actually rubbed off on me a bit when it was new (esp if I had sunscreen on my arms and carried it on my arm).

I'll check out the Apple conditioner. I have Coach conditioner, but at the store they told me not to use it on this particular bag.