Newbie about after getting my first birkin

nyyparis

Feb 13, 2009
Thanks for TPF members s encouragement and detail information.
After being rejected by 4 out 5 hermes shop in HK.
I finally got my first Birkin recently

It is gold birkin 30 cm ( I prefer 35 cm but need to compromise as it is so hard to purchase a Birkin in Hermes Hk.

Just want to ask

1. how do you care my bag ( if it got dirty , scratch . it s gonna killing me
because the bag is so precious), do you apply spray before using
or any other thread discuss about it.

2. has any girls use the raincoat, do you put in birkins to prevent any rainy day happen

3. 30 cm size is relatively small , any precaution for using it.

I am just a newbie to birkins, sorry for so many questions

and gold is such a great colour!! i think hk tpfer should have a special bag charm so when we see each other around, we can say hi...of course, only if they want tho...haha

hi NYParis

i am also newbie...... i have same question as u

I know some TPFers use leather protector and cleaner on your birkin
I asked my SA how do I care for my birkin, any recommended leather protector etc
She said no, dnt use anything, jst bring it back to the shop if thr's a prob w the leather.

So shd I or shd I not leather care the bag?

Congrats on your new birkin.

Please never never use any leather spray or coat on your birkin. If it's dirty, always send it in to Hermes Craftsman for a spa/cleaning.

I assume your leather is Togo or Clemence. In this case if it rains, remember to wipe away the rain drops. I have never used the raincoat before but some of my friends did and it works pretty well.

All of my birkins are in 30cm and I don't baby them at all (well that's just me). So far, the good side of having a 30cm vs 35cm is that you don't have to worry about it bumping onto stuff unlike a 35cm.