Yay, we're going on an All-American Tour: Washington DC!

1. My DH and I have been talking about going to Washington DC for a couple of years, but we're finally getting around to going this summer. Since I don't know DC at all, I thought I'd ask for suggestions on where to stay and what areas to avoid. We want to be close to all of the attractions (the Smithsonian,etc.) but also don't mind taking public transpo if there is a cute neighborhood that isn't too far from these sites. Any suggestions?
  2. Snorks- you will love DC- it is an awesome place to see the sights. Just be prepared to take some comfortable shoes because you will be doing a lot of walking. The Smithsonian- make sure you check out the Hope Diamond....
    DC in the spring the cherry trees are gorgeous. You may want to check out Georgetown as well... Have fun and take lots of pictures.
    When I went I stayed at the Washington Plaza Hotel- it was a good location...
  3. I love the History Museam !! I live like 15 min. away, so we go there all the time. The Cherry Blossom festival is BEAUTIFUL!! And, if ya have time, go to the Tysons area......FAB shopping...they have Fairfax Square, which has Louis Vuitton, Gucci, Hermes, AND Tiffanys!! Also, stop by Tysons 2...they have wonderful shopping there as well.