Would you carry your Hermes to a job interview?

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi gals,

I'm new to the blog. So, please excuse this thread if you have seen it elsewhere, I can't seem to find it anywhere.

Hermes is a quality bag, but would any one of you seriously carry the birkin or the kelly to an interview? They have many models that doesn't scream Hermes, but the above 2 models screams Hermes.

Any opinions on this is much appreciated. Personally for myself, if I know the interviewer is going to be a woman, I would seriously not carry it and only carry it after I've sussed out the work environment.

Any help on this is really appreciated.

Thanks.
    Vicky

2. I think it depends on the type and location of job you're interviewing for. If you were interviewing for a position at a fashion magazine or ad agency, for example, then I think you could carry an Hermes bag. If you're interviewing at a job where your potential co-workers are not as well of and could never afford something like a H bag, then I would not carry one of them or maybe use the ones that don't "scream" Hermes. Personally, I would be very conservative and go with a bag that is not H or one that can't be distinguished as one, especially since this is an interview we're talking about.

3. No, I wouldn't, unless you are interviewing for the job of editor of a fashion magazine or of a top stylist, or something similar to these. Otherwise it's too much of a statement for a job interview and can be taken the wrong way by people who do not know you well enough. IMO, it's best to leave the Birkins and Kellys for much later.

4. I guess it depends (not very helpful, I know). Where I live, nobody would recognize an Hermes Kelly or Birkin, so wearing one to an interview would be fine. But, if you have doubts, listen to your inner voice and leave the expensive bag at home.