Will a Mac be practical for me?

1. Everyone here has always given me good advice on some of my dillema's and I'm coming back for more! :biggrin:

So, I have a fairly new (a little over a year old) Toshiba Satellite laptop. My brother is entering his senior year of high school and he really does not care too much for laptops. He has a desktop for when he's home and now my parents are thinking of getting him a laptop (he is a part of a hockey program so for a few months out of the year, he isn't at home).

I, on the other hand, is going into my second year of Uni and they gave me the option of giving my brother the laptop and in return will help me on the difference of the depreciated price for a new laptop.

I am a marketing - Communications student and I don't do a lot of web design or anything. However, I do have presentations and some that requires basic knowledge of photoshop for some marketing projects.

I was thinking of getting a Apple Laptop. I hear really good things about their customer service, reliability, and functionality. But, I don't know how practical (as I don't do a lot of design work) it would be for me and how hard it would be for me to adjust. I'm not a big computer person, so I wouldn't know much of the specs. But could use your help in telling me what's the difference between using windows and a mac. I do a lot of papers so I what could I be using in replacement of Word?

Thanks for all the input! I really appreciate it!

2. Why would you even need a new laptop if yours is only a year old?