Why ratemyprofessor.com is cruel

1. Ok, I'm sitting here procrastinating on doing work, so thought I would share one of my rants of the week.

Ratemyprofessor.com is a site where students can go to "rate" their professors and leave comments. As a professor I like the idea, in theory, because it holds teachers accountable. HOWEVER, I HATE the fact that there is a poll for whether the professor is hot or ugly.

How would you feel if there was a poll on the internet as to whether you were hot or not? No other profession has to deal with this. After I consult a lawyer, I don't go on the internet and vote for whether or not she was "hot." I don't write comments about my bank teller or vote that he's ugly.

I have literally spent days crying when I saw that students had voted that I was not hot. I'm not sure the students realize how seriously a lot of people take their comments. All of the other younger profs and grad students in my department look at the stupid site almost every day...so if a student gives me ugly votes, all of my friends immediately know it.

It's easy to say that I just shouldn't look at the site, but how would you feel if you KNEW their was an on-line vote as to whether you were hot or not -- AND that the people participating were the very people who saw you EVERY DAY (your own students)? It's hard to just ignore it.

I guess I also feel badly sometimes because I am extremely nice to all of my students, so any time I get a not hot vote I feel personally betrayed. Plus sad that I'm getting old and wrinkled and, well, NOT HOT;)

Anyway, if there were a legal way to remove this site, I would! Any thoughts?
  2. i think that is incredibly cruel but teenagers love these types of sites.....they have these vote if someone's hot or not sites for all sorts of things and i do agree they suck......