why is Coach so expensive in Japan?

1. Hi :smile:

I was wondering, why is Coach so expensiwe in Japan. I's really weird, that almost all bags and accesories cost near twice USA price. it really makes me sad, bacause I'm traveling to japan from time to time and I'm a big Coach fan, but the prices are just killing me! (unfortunatelly I don't have Coach shop in my country) have any idea why is it so expensiwe there?
  2. I'm not EXACTLY certain, but I do know that Japan and Hawaii are the biggest markets for designer handbags. So a lot of limited editions are made exclusively for those two markets (which totally suck because I love some of the stuff on the Japan Coach website!) I was in Hawaii last December for vacation, and I saw the coated canvas Heritage Stripe totes in the boutique, a whole 2 months earlier than the US markets.

I've also heard that many people purchase bags in the U.S., and then sell them in the Asian markets for a small profit since the bags are cheaper in the U.S.

(Sorry if that doesn't exactly answer your question. Maybe some other tPFer will know.)
  3. I don't know why for sure but I can say that my dad was over in Japan years ago for three months for work and he said EVERYTHING was more expensive over there. He found some Japanese-issued Duran Duran albums to bring back for me and they were WAY more than comparable albums sold for here in the US (OK the group and the fact that they were the vinyl albums should tell you about how long ago it was :lol:).
  4. Are you talking about the exchange rate or the actual price of everything? Because my husband and I were in London for a while recently and I know that everything over there is twice what it is here ( 1 pound equals 2 American dollars). Just wondering. :confused1: