Who can/should you ask to write you a letter of recommendation???

1. I graduated from college with my bachelor's degree about 5 years ago and will be applying to fashion school.

Part of the application process is obtaining 3 letter's of recommendation, but being that I've been out of school for a while now, I'm not sure who to ask. I know I could ask my supervisor/employer, but who else? Can I ask my friends? Or fellow co-workers?

Please HELP!!:confused1:
  2. Do you have any professors that you were close to? They can be good references - especially if they knew you well and were aware of your work.

Past employers would also be a good option, if you left the workplace in a peaceful manner.

I don't think friends are a good idea...
  3. I would ask your old professors, assuming you had a good relationship with them!
  4. No friends, no family, no boyfriends, no girlfriends, etc. Any letters written by people like that will be tossed.

Remember these letters are suppose to show your ability to do well in your proposed field, not what type of person you are.

It should be people who know your work best- professors, direct bosses, supervisors, etc. Coworkers do not fall into that section unless they are in a supervisory position.

For any type of school application, you should try to have 2 out of the 3 letters be from professors and 1 from a boss if you can't have all 3 be professors.
  5. Thanks ladies!! I guess this one is a toughie because my Bachelors is a business degree, but I'll try my professor's. I really hope they will remember me!!
  6. Were you involved in any student organizations? If so, that might be a good option to contact another member of the organization?
  7. Reccomendations should be from people who have/have had some sort of authority over you. This means professors, deans, supervisors, mentors and the like. People who can say "they did ____ under my supervision and it was great!"