when to worry? canada/priority mail/no insurance

1. Hi! :biggrin: Kinda new to tPF, but I've been lurking for a couple weeks.

It's probably too soon to worry, but as a newbie I could use some reassurance. :sweatdrop: I just bought my first Tokidoki bag on eBay (yes, I read the guide to avoiding fakes), and it's my first eBay purchase. So I have zero feedback. I also paid too much, but that's another story. :ninja:

I won it with BIN, and paid extra for insurance. But when I got my paypal shipping notice, it said no insurance was bought. Was I supposed to email the seller to confirm that?

She marked the customs form as a "gift" and $60 value, but I paid $160. I think she did it to be nice and to hopefully expedite the shipping time. I expected it to arrive in about a week, considering she's in California and I'm close to Vancouver, BC. (I just got a package from NH which took less than a week.) It's been 11 business days, so I'm thinking it got stopped at customs. Which means I could be waiting another 1-3 weeks. USPS website says it received electronic shipping info, but doesn't confirm that they've gotten it. I hear this is common with Priority Mail though.

But what if something happens to my bag? Gets lost/damaged/my dyslexic postal guy delivers it to the wrong address. The seller has 3000+ feedback and over 99% positive, whereas I've got 0. I feel like, who would believe me over her if I needed to dispute it? I paid with paypal, but through my bank account, not my credit card.

Should I be worried yet, or do you think it's okay? :shrugs: Thank you!

2. I don't think there's tracking with Priority Mail, so there's no way for you to know where it is. I think you have to look back on the listing and see if the seller even offers insurance - if so, then I think you have to ask for it. But seeing as she has devalued the item for you, having insurance for $160 kind of gives away the true value!