What was your major in college? Does it relate to your current occupation?

1. Hello college grads!~

Asking this Q because i'm currently a student in a rut.

i'll be graduating next year with a degree in microbiology and am not too keen on going into the science field. but, i'm so close to graduating so I don't want to change my major just because I don't want to work in science after grad.

i currently work at a marketing firm.. and i really had to try hard to get this job. during the interview, the interviewer noticed that my major has nothing to do with the work. and i persisted that i firmly believe that four years of education will eventually be worth less than four years of experience so i'd like to get my foot in the door early.. and she agreed and gave me the job ( :yahoo:) soo.. i was thankful of that. hopefully employers will be just as openminded when i'm applying for things upon graduating >_<

so, while in the rut, i became curious as to whether the major has a heavy influence on one's occupation (sans areas like engineering or biotech, or other specialized fields)?

thanks all for participating!
  2. I started out as an art major and wound up in nursing!
  3. I majored in Biology & Russian. I got my Master's in Central & Eastern European Studies.

I currently work in an immigration law firm. So I don't really do anything that relates to my degrees, but in a month I'm starting my PhD in Russian Literature!
  4. I majored in Merchandise Marketing @ FIDM and I'm currently a Merchandise Manager.
  5. I majored in Organizational Behavior...and now I work as an account associate for Google AdWords (basically...I work in advertising :balloon:)
  6. I majored in Advertising and Psychology ... and I work at an online ad agency in San Francisco. Not a stretch, I guess!