What to do if you bought an ebay fake?

1. Hi,

I am a newbie here although I have been lurking around for some time.

I have bought a few LV items on eBay and they have all turned out to be legit until today. Today I got my first fake LV bag that was advertised as authentic.

I bought this LV bag based on the sellers 127 feedback with 97.7% positive and he being a member since May of 2001. I didn't see any negative feedback as a seller so I decided to bid. The bag was clearly advertised as authentic in the listing although the seller only put up a "stock" picture of the bag. I know, I know I probably should have been more cautious but I saw the listing when it was nearly ending and bid on it based on the sellers relatively good feedback score and his claim to authenticity. Also, my bid was so low I did not really think I would win the auction.

Now, what should I do? I do plan on contacting him and trying to resolve this but before I do this I thought I would ask some of you who may have experienced this before your thoughts and what the best way to proceed is.

By the way, I believe the seller is probably fully aware the bag is a fake.

Also, I have perfect feedback on eBay and do not want to receive any negative retalliatory feedback from this guy so I want to be careful how I handle this situation.

2. Did you pay by PayPal? If so, you should be covered under the buyer's protection scheme. DO call your credit card issuer as well, most of the time they will be able to help and you'll get a refund.

I'm sorry for your mistake!
  3. E-mail the the seller first, tell them that the bag they mentioned as authentic was really fake, and that you would like your money back. If she/he fails to compormise, tell them you're filing a claim with Paypal and contacting eBay since it's against eBay's TOS to sell counterfeit goods.

If you paid via Paypal, report a claim and state that the seller claimed the bag as authentic, but turned out to be fake.