Waterproof mascara is damaging???

1. I went to Sephora today to grab some more Diorshow Waterproof mascara, and the girl at the counter was like "have you tried --whatever," the other Dior one, something about it being extra black and non-waterproof.

Well she continued to say that waterproof is so bad for your eyelashes, they'll fall out and be thinner and not as nice. I have been using like $7 waterproof mascara basically since I was like 13 years old, and have only within the past 8 months started wearing the Diorshow waterproof which is better.

Is it really damaging? I mean honestly, I don't seem to have anything wrong with mine... but now I feel like maybe I should have gotten the other stuff? But whatever... just curious because I've never heard of that. I've even heard of needing to make sure it's not on my lashes when I sleep, but I just wear it to bed. I mean I'm almost 22 and I've been doing this since 13 so... nearly a decade when you think about it!

2. I've never heard this, the only thing i can think of is that because it's harder to get off, you might damage your eyelashes whilst wiping them or rubbing them, yeah so sorry i'm not sure

3. Neither have I heard of such thing. Except for the reasons aformentioned by xhollieax. Maybe the girl was just trying to get a comission?

4. it's the removal that's damaging.
    If you use a really good remover that you don't have to work hard at getting it off then you're fine.

5. I've found some waterproof mascaras that caused my lashes to fall out, but I think it may have been a personal sensitivity of mine to a particular brand. Many are great, including Diorshow waterproof which is my favorite. I agree with Swanky - a good oily eye makeup remover is key. I like Lancome remover best but Chanel is also good.

6. I've heard that it's too drying, so you should only use waterproof mascara for when you really need it. :shrugs: