Wanting to start over in career

1. Is there ever a time when you decide to make a life-altering change whether it be career, relationship, job, etc? I have come to that crossroad. After 6 years of working a meaningless, selfish job, I want to start over and do something that will help others and be fullfilling.
    A brief background:
    I graduated from St. Cloud State University in 1999 with a BS in Mass Comm/PR and a minor in french. My initial idea was to obtain a job in sports marketing and advertising somewhere in the Twin Cities, leading to professional sports. Well, it never panned out and I was unable to find a position for someone fresh out of college. I ended up taking a job as a technical recruiter/sales (as many unsure college grads do...go into sales), did that for a year, then began what led to be a 6-year career in mortgage processing/underwriting. Me, someone who avoided all math classes in college...sitting and working with financial calculations all day every day? I was even surprised at myself. I made a pretty decent living in mortgage since it was the mid 2000's and the refi boom was full swing. Yet, somehow, I felt it was an empty, selfish industry, with many people in it only to make a big buck and not caring who they hurt in the process. And now, when you look at the slumping housing industry today, you can see the outcome of that. Towards the downswing of my mortgage career, my dad began experiencing health issues again that he'd been battling all his life. With several trips to the Er, going through a heart attack, being diagnosed diabetic...he was on 13 different medications and was feeling awful. In turn, I felt helpless. I wanted to learn more and be able to help, to understand, to do something.