Vacation Ideas??

1. I was hoping you ladies could help me out... I want to go somewhere really neat this summer with my boyfriend of 2 years. Preferably I'd like for it to be someplace with white sandy beaches and clear water but I'm not sure where exactly that would be because I don't trust all the commercials i see lol. So maybe places that you all have been and could recommend? We do have a budget since I'm a student and he's the only one working of about 2,000 for the both of us? We'd fly of course because we live in houston and there's nothing of that sort in driving distance i dont think haha. TiA!
  2. Yaaay! A fellow H-towner! Well, we would've been about 6-7 yrs ago. I used to live in Galena then Katy. Anywhoo.. what about Galveston? LOL j/k. I'm sorry I can be of no help, I have always hated beaches :shrugs:.

The place I've ever had the best time during vacation was NYC. Lots of places to see, great for shopping wether it be high-end or vintage or cheapo, great food, great people, endless entertainment, nightlife.. it has it all!!! (Can you tell I became obsessed with the city?). It may not suit your interest right now, but if you haven't been there, give it a shot sometime. I'm sure you'll love it as much as I did!
  3. If you are on a budget, but want sandy beaches and nice weather, I suggest Costa Rica. Stay away from the resort areas, which are over priced and touristic, and head toward the Nicoya Penninsula (on the Pacific side, still very hot, but not humid). I vacationed in Montezuma for 14 days and loved it!!!! It is really affordable (check out the hotel Amor de Mar), the food is wonderful and fresh, and it is a small town so it is safe and everyone knows everyone. Here are a few links:

Montezuma (more like a village than a city)

When I was there in 2003, I spent ~$1,500-$2,000 in total (that included airfare, hotel, spending, etc.)