Ugly bridesmaids gown for a Gucci??

1. Hi Everyone,

I am still new in these parts and I have noticed that you all give one another great advice so I wanted to try my luck. I do not need advice, but I would LOVE the opinion/perspective of an issue from people who are related to it in NO WAY. Here is the issue and really want to know what you would do ( I appreciate all honesty and sorry for the long post):

Okay, so I was asked to be a bridesmaid in a wedding that will be taking place during the third weekend of January. A childhood friend of mine is finally going to marry her fiance of two years who came home from Iraq (thank God all in one piece) recently. My friend values her mother's opinion over her own sometimes because she does not know how to speak up. When she first got engaged, she already had designs for the bridesmaids gowns - completely gorgeous! When her boyfriend went to Iraq, she scrapped all the ideas ( I have no idea why). Well now, things have changed and even with the military money, she and her fiance are struggling and instead of borrowing money (they have pride issues), they agreed to let her parents pay for the wedding (like tradition).

Well here is where it goes sour. Her mom agreed to write checks for ANY amount as long as the following was met: she got to pick out the hall, bridesmaids gowns, photographer/videographer, and catering company - not the food. It sounded like a deal at first but when my friend showed us the dress her mom wants us to wear - I almost died. It has to be one of the most hideous, dated gowns ever.