Travelling to LA... need advice and also to rant a bit

1. Hi I'm VERY HIGH STRUNG RIGHT NOW! I'm a university student near my midterms right now and on my period and I will be going to LA right after my mts end. This trip is kinda like the last thing I need right now since its blowing up in my face. I planned it back in Dec, thinking that I could use a reward after having such a hard semester and so I thought after Mts I can go away and enjoy some sun (I live in Canada so its REALLY REALLY miserable right now).

Anyway, my friend and I are going to LA to visit this other friend of ours who lives in Irvine, anyway, the friend I'm leaving Canada with told me to NOT buy these super cheap tickets I saw back in Dec for only 200$ because she says the prices will drop closer ot my departure date, and trust me it did not so we're both shedding out 400$ each for our airfare. I wanted to buy a package with hotels and what not but she said we shoudl just live with our friend in Irvine so I listened to her, but... our friend in Irvine is now telling us to rent a car when we are there because we wouldn't be able to get around etc w/o one and i thought that the frd in Irvine would take us around and put us up and whatever but basically for the sound of it, she's just letting us stay w/ her but she won't be spending alot of time w/ us or telling us how to get around.

:hysteric: